Glider Flight – Sutton Bank

What a fantastic surprise for my birthday. Under pretence of finding a coffee shop (a very good one) Alan and Gill led me to the North Yorkshire moors. Then about 5 miles from Sutton Bank looking up into the sky, I realised my fate.  Following some brief safety checks, and the fitting of a parachute, my introduction to gliding began. 


I honestly didn’t Know what to expect, I thought gliders would be slow and sedate. The speed was amazing, and the thermals strong. Fifteen minutes the pilot handed the stick to me, after a couple of difficult moments I found some sort of control.

Thankyou, Alan & Gill.

Leave a Reply

